SM4 with David Lyttle & Joonatan Rautio


with David Lyttle (IRL) & Joonatan Rautio

SM4, aka Söderbacka-Matikainen Quartet, featuring David Lyttle (IRL) and Joonatan Rautio is a new exciting collaboration. The music by SM4 can be described as contemporary jazz with scandinavian flavours that sets a playground for the musicians to create rhythmic and harmonic adventures. The band is led by Finnish jazzmusicians guitarist Martin Söderbacka and basist Eevalotta Matikainen. The music for SM4 is mainly written by Martin and Eevalotta and we often perform pieces composed by the other band members, such as Irish musician David Lyttle. The band features the brilliant jazzdrummer David Lyttle from Northern Ireland and one of Finlands foremost jazz musicians and saxophone virtuoso Joonatan Rautio.

  • David Lyttle (IRL) – drums
  • Martin Söderbacka (FIN) – guitar
  • Eevalotta Matikainen (FIN) – double bass
  • Joonatan Rautio (FIN) | Siim Aimla (EST) – saxophone

Follow us on social media and youtube:


David Lyttle - Martin Söderbacka Guitarist - Eevalotta Matikainen

David Lyttle (IRL) – drums

David Lyttle is one of Northern Irelands foremost jazz musicians. Lyttle has played in nearly 50 different countries and has collaborated and toured with musicians such as Kurt Rosenwinkel, Dave Liebman, Seamus Blake, Joe Lovano, Jesse Van Ruller, Terell Stafford, Jonathan Kreisberg, Pino Palladino, Kenny Werner and Liane Carrol. Lyttle has also collaborated with other greats such as Hollywood actor Liam Neeson and hip-hop visionary Talib Kweli. He as also received nominations for MOBO Awards and Urban Music Awards. His work is described by Rolling Stone magazine as “one of the best, robust listening experiences you’re likely to have all year” and by website All about jazz as “…one of the world’s great contemporary drummers.”

Joonatan Rautio (FIN) – saxophone

The tenor saxophonist Joonatan Rautio is well known for his virtuosity and his soloistic strength and vitality. His musical background is firmly rooted in the jazz tradition. Joonatan Rautio makes a strong statement, both rhythmically and harmonically.

He has performed with many top Finnish and International musical artists, including Jim Beard, Randy Brecker, Adam Nussbaum, Jeff “Tain” Watts, Jon Balke, MIke Stern, Chris Minh Doky, Jukkis Uotila, Lars Danielsson, Anders Jormin, Ron McClure, Peter Erskine, Jesse Van Ruller, Mark Soskin and Finland’s UMO Jazz Orchestra

Martin Söderbacka Guitarist

Martin Söderbacka (FIN) – guitar

Finnish jazzguitarist and composer has performed and collaborated with numerous great guest artists such as: John Stowell (USA), Jukka Perko, Siim Aimla (EST), Teemu Viinikainen, Osmo Ikonen, Sami Saari, Jesse Kaikuranta, Manuel Dunkel, Olli Soikkeli, Niklas Winter, Aili Ikonen, Joonatan Rautio, David Lyttle (IRL) and Mika Mylläri.

Martin composes music for own groups and co-leads several bands together with his wife, bassist Eevalotta Matikainen such as Soul What? feat. Joonatan Rautio, Söderbacka-Matikainen Duo and SM4.

Combinding an traditional approach to jazzguitar along with different sounds created with effect pedals, Martin crafts a contemporary sound which sits very well with the music of SM4.

Eevalotta Matikainen (FIN) – double bass

Eevalotta started her music carreer playing big band music at the age of 10 years old. Since then she has worked and performed with many great artists from Finland and abroad. Eevalotta has also worked in many orchestras, big bands and ensembles spanning from classical music, traditional folk music to jazz. Eevalotta has led her first own band, Soul What? feat. Joonatan Rautio’s soul/jazz quintet since 2008. In addition, she composes with her guitarist husband, Martin Söderbacka, for their joint bands SM4 and Söderbacka-Matikainen Duo.

Martin Söderbacka Guitarist